Join the battle of the Crypto Clans! The Beginner’s Guide

Chain Clash is a web-based collectible and fighting game in which you array, train and fight with avatars representing crypto clans like Bitcoin, Ethereum or EOS. The special twist here is that some of the avatars are digital representations of most prominent creators and influencers from the crypto space, like Brock Pierce or John McAfee.

Getting started

Chain Clash is natively available on many EOS wallets. In our experience, it’s best played on Wombat. Launching the game in Wombat is simple — go to Explorer, find Chain Clash and tap the play button. You will need to sign a transaction to get logged in, which looks like this:

When you log into the game for the first time, it equips you with a voucher for the first free avatar. You will need to choose the clan this first avatar belongs to. The clan of an avatar cannot be changed, but don’t worry — you can own as many avatars as you want with varying clans.

The Dojo

The dojo is the main screen with all of your fighters and in-game items and from which you can perform many of the most basic actions.


Your avatars are the main characters in the game. You’ll spend most of your time training them and clashing with your avatars against opponents. Tapping on an avatar will reveal its clashing stats, attributes, default strategy and many other details.

Level and attributes

Each avatar has a level and four attributes. The levels don’t have a direct impact on the avatar’s performance, but with every new level, the avatars’ attributes increase. In addition, you gain one Training Shard upon reaching a new level.

The attributes — namely, Strength, Agility, Resilience and Wisdom — determine your avatar’s performance in clashes. Health is the amount of damage your avatar can take before it dies and has to be revived.

It is worth noting that avatars from different clans vary in how their attributes develop with every level. For example, BTC avatars will generally have a faster increase in Wisdom and Resilience, whereas TRX avatars will gain Agility and Strength quicker. On top of that, the higher the value of an attribute itself, the bigger is the gain per each level.


Shards can boost individual attributes, either to make up for weak attributes or further strengthen the more advanced ones. In contrast to leveling up, shards have a stronger effect when applied to weaker attributes. That will become really relevant once the differences in attribute values grow large enough.

Shards can currently only be gained through extensive training or through leveling up, so spend them wisely!


Currently, all items in the game are consumables, meaning that you can use them only once, be it to train your avatars or refill their health. The following items are available:

  • Training tickets — needed to train your avatar. Every 24 hours of training let you claim one shard, and you need 1 training ticket per every 2 hours of training per each avatar
  • Health kits — Upon clashing, your avatars lose some health. If the health falls to or below 0, your avatar will die in combat and have to be revived. In order to avoid that, you can spend health kits to regain some of the health of your avatar
  • Revival orb — Revives your avatar immediately with full health
  • Avatar voucher — Used to redeem avatars from the presale, or your first free avatar
  • Name tag — Used to claim an in-game name

Training tickets, health kits and revival orbs can be purchased (individually or in bulk) from the store.


Avatar names in Chain Clash are provably unique — you can check the blockchain to verify that any name exists only once.

In order to assign a name to an avatar, you first need to claim it using one name tag. The name tag can then be assigned to any of your avatars in the avatar details.

Check this post to learn more about the name system.


Now that Chain Clash covered the fundamentals, let’s get down to the most exciting part: clashing. Each clash consists of three rounds of fight moves, an offensive and a defensive one per round. In each round, an avatar will trigger an offensive move by itself and react to the opponent’s attack with its own defensive one. The avatar that dealt more damage throughout the three rounds will win the clash.

The amount of damage dealt depends on three main factors:

  • The effectiveness of its own moves based on its attributes
  • The efficiency depending on the opponent’s choice of defensive moves
  • A little bit of luck

This means that each of your avatars will have their individual ideal strategy; however, the results will then still depend on the opponent’s choices of moves.

The winning avatar will gain scores on the leaderboard and a bunch of experience towards the next level; the losing avatar will lose the respective amount of points (according to an ELO-like system) and gain only a little bit of experience.

Arenas and Matching

In Chain Clash, all arenas are divided according to Stages. These Stages are a crucial balancing element that works as a ‘filter’, ensuring avatars only clash with matching opponents. That way, both fighters come from the same level range and thus have an even ground. The outcome of their clash is left solely to their strategies and attributes.

Matchmaking in this game is asynchronous. Meaning, clashes don’t happen in real-time. Instead, the matchmaking system scans all the avatars sent by their owners into the arenas and connects two contestants with more or less similar levels and attributes.


In the store, you can buy all of the items Chain Clash mentioned above, plus additional avatars. Tickets, health kits and orbs can be bought in bulk, which will give you a juicy discount.

Avatars are available in three rarities in the store:

  • Common
  • Rare
  • Epic

The different rarities have differing appearances so you can immediately tell them apart. In addition, higher-rarity avatars can reach higher levels and are generally a bit stronger then more common ones.

Challenges and Achievements


Challenges will be one of the main ways to gain free items. There are Daily challenges and Quests, which are more long-term. Challenges include tasks like “Win 3 Clashes” or “Win 3 Clashes vs BCH”, so make sure you clash a lot, and against a wide variety of opponents. Upon completion of a challenge, you can claim the prize immediately. Once you’ve done that, a new daily challenge will appear.

Quests work pretty much the same way, only with bigger requirements and larger rewards.


Achievements are badges you can earn upon reaching thresholds in certain activities, like “20 wins vs ETH”. The further you get, the more impressive the badge.


This is the place where you can prove your performance against the opposition. The higher the score, the higher your avatars will be ranked.

Clan leaderboards

The clan leaderboards show interesting stats about the clan metagame, like how many avatars there are per clan and what the average score is. At the time of writing, most of the avatars in the game are EOS avatars, followed by BTC.

Play Now!

Like? Share with your friends!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram